a photo a day & easy journaling

As 2011 is coming to and end and we are moving on to 2012 I wanted to share two ideas I have for journaling and photographing my way through 2012.  These both will be positve, “feel good” ways to capture big and small moments in the coming year and in years to come. Both ideas come from my favorite website, Pinterest.

Pinned ImageIf you click on the above image it will take you to the website with ideas and information about taking 1 picture a day for an entire year. I like that it will make me capture the every day, mundane parts of life rather than only capturing dance recitals, birthday parties and other events. I love taking pictures with my iPhone and it’s usually close enough to to snap a quick picture of the girls being silly, playing dress up, or on a walk outside; some of my favorite pictures of the girls are from my phone.  I try to send at least one pictures a day to Luke so he can see what the girls are up to and hopefully make him smile.  But to use my iPhone would be too easy.  So, to add a challenge to myself I’m going to use our Nikon D300, manually. I am embarrassed to admit that we have this amazing camera and I still use it like it’s a point and shoot in the automatic setting. We took a photography class after Norah was born and I was starting to get a grasp of aperture,  ISO setting, shutter speed and all that other stuff when the class ended along with my using the camera and what I had newly learned.  I love going on walks with the girls, grabbing the camera and capturing them playing or the beautiful nature around us, I’m  just not confident in the manual setting. So, I will be lugging around our big camera and using it manually to take 1 picture a day for an entire year. Tedious? Yes. But at the end of 2012 I will hopefully  have a beautiful progression of pictures (hopefully from ok to great) of our year with two busy, crazy, fun, little girls, our growing cattle business and soon to be walnut orchard — big stuff in 2012 for us!

I found these great photography tutorials on The Pioneer Woman’s website that I’m sure will be helpful.  That, and a batch of her homemade cinnamon rolls.

Pinned Image

I love this idea! I love that as we get more and more years recorded we will be able to go back and read what we were doing 3, 5,  10 years ago and see what big milestones the girls went through in those times.  If you click on the picture it will take you to the tutorial where you can read more about making one for yourself. I think I will be using scrapbooking paper in between the months and possibly just handwriting the date at the top unless I can track a stamp like that down between now and Sunday. It will hopefully have a permanent spot in the kitchen where it’ll be a reminder to jot down our event for the day and not get too behind on filling it out. The author even admits that the first year is the hardest but the reward will come in the years to come.

resolutions.

Happy 2012!

5 thoughts on “a photo a day & easy journaling

  1. I LOVE this idea of taking a picture a day! This is something I am going to try to do with Noalani. It will be fun to see how much she changes day to day in her first year! And the journaling will be great too! This will be my new years goal…to take a picture a day of Noalani and jot down something we did each day =)

  2. About time you get that Porsche of a camera out of automatic! Can’t wait to see what you capture. And just so you know, it’s easy to see what mode you were in when you take the photo, so no cheating 🙂

  3. I started something similar to the daily activity document last year…and it got pushed aside. Think I will get it out today and try and start again! Thanks for the reminder!! 🙂 Great site!

Leave a Reply

