crayon hearts & A is for alligator

Today I have a really fun Valentine’s craft and the first in our ABC letter series.

I found these Crayon Hearts on Pinterest and was directed to Martha Stewart’s website.  Now, I’ll be the first to admit that mine look nothing like Martha’s – but am still very happy with how they look hanging in our window. I still remember making these in preschool and always loved the day we did this.  Let me warn you though – this is a craft that involved some prep work – so please don’t think you can just sit down and do this one. The girls were having a good morning at home playing by themselves in the playroom so I was able to get all the crayons peeled and then used one of those flat paddle dicer/scoopers (I’m sure that makes no sense) to chop up the crayons since our cheap sharpener quickly became too slow and bogged down with crayon shavings for me.

You need:

    • Wax Paper
    • Crayon Shavings – I used purple, pink, and red for Valentine’s colors.
    • Kraft Paper – that is off her website – I have no idea what that is and just used construction paper instead. I believe the only purpose it is serving is to be a buffer between the wax paper and your iron.
  • Iron – on a medium to low setting.

Fold the wax paper in half and sprinkle the crayon shavings you want on one half of the wax paper. Then fold the other 3 edges with a small fold to keep any fax from spilling out (speaking from experience – don’t forget this step!). Then cover the wax with your Kraft (??), or construction paper like I did, and use your iron to melt the crayons beneath.  We did this on top of a magazine and I’d recommend that because by the end the magazine was quite waxy and I doubt you’d want that on your table.  Norah and Stella’s job was sprinkling the crayon shavings on the wax paper and then Mom had to finish the rest. Not a super kid friendly craft but it was fun to see them get excited when they saw what the iron did to the crayon shavings. 

I let them sit for a few minutes to harden and cool off and  then just traced different sized hearts and cut them out. I punched a hole and used pink yarn to hang them from different levels on our window. They were pretty at night but even prettier in the morning when the light was shining through them.

And just in case any one is curious . . . Mr. Clean Magic Erasers do a pretty good job getting melted red crayon out of fabric on chairs.

A is for Alligator

I have been wanting to start doing letter crafts with the girls for awhile now.  I know Norah’s ready and poor Stella is just going to have to be since her sister is.  I came across this great compliation of all sorts of ideas for each letter and will be getting my inspiration here.

What you’ll need:

  • Construction Paper – We used green for our A and each girl picked their own color to glue it on to.
  • Scissors (Kid scissors if you want them to cut)
  • Glue Stick
  • White Paper
  • Googly Eyes
  • Paint – We used green and yellow tempera paint.

Draw a big outline of a block letter on the green paper (You can also draw two little triangles up near the top where the eyes will go.) Then let them paint the letter however they want. I had to go and redraw the letter A on the paper after it had dried since they both covered almost the entire paper.    

After the paint has dried cut out your letter A – this could be another opportunity to practice cutting but sadly in our house the kid scissors had gone MIA and it was almost lunch time which meant Mom was not in the mood to go on a scissor hunt.  Then they can glue their letter on to whatever paper they picked — purple for Norah and pink for Stella.  Then they glued on little eyes and white triangles I cut for their teeth.  I hung both of them up in their playroom and am going to make them a border on the top of their wall – should look very cute when we’ve gone through the entire alphabet.

   A is for Alligator . . . A, A, A.

        

Leave a Reply

