what’s for dinner?

I don’t know how many people are actually using the recipes I post on “What’s For Dinner” but I know my family is enjoying them and I certainly am enjoying the fact that I am taking a little time on Sundays to get the week planned out, making for smoother weeknights. I was thoroughly impressed with both the Shepard’s Pie and Tuna Noodle Cassarole from last week. Both had great flavor and were gobbled up by grown ups and kids alike! Plus, the leftovers were fantastic and we finished them off for lunch today. I’m finally doing the pork chops and mac and cheese tonight and am having to push the Chicken Parmesean to next week.  Life happens and I decided I wasn’t cooking dinner Friday night and instead we went out to dinner – yeah to no cooking or dishes!

Crockpot Chicken Tacos – This is a slight variation to my favorite crock-pot chicken salsa by adding taco seasoning. I love how this recipe couldn’t be simpler: frozen chicken breasts covered with salsa and taco seasoning mixed in and set to cook all day on low while we are out doing our thing.  I am going to add on this yummy spanish rice recipe and veggies to complete our meal. Didn’t figure out points for this – but if you take it easy on the toppings  and how many you eat,  I’d say it’s a really healthy dinner.

Crockpot Black Bean Chili (from my GooseBerry Patch 101 Slow Cooker Recipes Cookbook)

Another recipe to use the crock-pot and come home to a house that smells delicious and dinner ready to eat. I’m just going to make my favorite spinach salad with fruit (blueberries, strawberries and/or raspberries are my favorite), feta cheese, toasted walnuts and topped with Lucero Balsamic Vinegar to go along with it.

  • 1 lb. pork tenderloin
  • 3  15 1/2 oz. cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 16 oz. jar chunky salsa
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 t. dried oregano
  • Garnish:  sour cream diced tomatoes, tortilla chips

Place pork in a a lightly greased (or use non-stick spray) slow-cooker; add remaining ingredients except garnish.  Cover and cook on low setting for 8 hours, or on high for 4 hours. Shred pork; return to slow cooker.  Garnish servings with dollops of sour cream and diced tomatoes. Serves 4-6.

Chicken & White Bean Enchiladas with Creamy Salsa Verde  — Why not add a few extra chicken breasts when you make the Chicken Tacos and you can use that shredded chicken to make these?

2 thoughts on “what’s for dinner?

  1. I have made the chicken parmesan from your last post and it was delicious. I plan on using some recipes from this post too. Thanks for the ideas on crafts, workouts, and recipes!

    • Thanks for the note, Mandy! I’m excited to try that recipe too. My girls gobbled up the pork chops last night — I struggle to get them to eat meat and they asked for “more” about 3 times last night — success in my book! I read about your girls being potty trained too – so impressive!

Leave a Reply

