i love you message board

I’m confident enough to admit that I listen to Dr. Laura.  Actually, I love listening to her. I think it’s her brutal honesty and outspokenness that I love; probably because those aren’t my strongest qualities I admire them in someone else.  Yes, she’s pretty traditional in her values and I don’t always agree with her answers but for the most part I do and I usually walk away with something to think about.  I bought her book, The Proper Care and Feeding of Husbands, after hearing her talk about it and then hearing a few other girlfriends talk about it. Let me summarize the book for you:  1. Don’t nag.  2.  Be your husband’s girlfriend.  Sometimes these are easier said than done but I think they are valid points.  Sometimes it’s hard to feel “girlfriendish” dressed in workout gear, un-showered, snot wiped on my shirt from runny noses, and a messy house stressing me out, but I am trying.  Life gets in the way, work gets in the way, two kids get in the way and I will admit I haven’t been the best girlfriend lately and I want him to know how much I love him and appreciate him. So, I am upping the cheese factor in honor of Valentine’s Day and made this super sweet “I Love You Because” message board to remind the hubby of all the little things I love about him – from the obvious (how hard he works for us) to the not so obvious (watching him let the girls do his hair – complete with hair clips and hairspray).  Hopefully, he’ll catch onto the idea and I’ll see some notes from him too!

I take no credit for the idea of this; I wish I was crafty like that but I don’t have that gene.  However I can look at a picture and follow directions and get pretty darn close. Here is the link to the original. If you don’t want to make your own she does have an Etsy store where she sells it or if you like mine I will make you one!   If you want to type out your own font you can but I also am including the one that I made on Microsoft Word. All you’ll need to do is download it and then print it on whatever scrapbook paper you choose.

What you need:

  • 8×10 frame
  • Scrapbook paper
  • Download this file: iloveyoubecause and open in Word.
  • Felt/Fabric Roses to decorate frame if you want (I can do a tutorial next week if anyone’s interested in fabric roses  – these are my favorite!) I used something similar to a burlap for these.
  • Dry-Erase Pen

Print out the sign on whatever paper you’d like and put in your frame. Decorate the frame with felt/fabric roses then write a note to your loved one with a dry erase marker and don’t forget to change it often!

Leave a Reply

