day 1 of clean eating challenge

Don’t worry – I’m not going to be posting my play by play of clean eating; I just wanted to share what day 1 looked like for me and how truly do-able it is to make small changes and incorporate healthy eating into your life without sacrificing flavor and still feeling satisfied.

Here’s what today looked like:

Breakfast:  A bowl of oatmeal with banana and milk and sprinkled with lots of cinnamon and a few splashes of vanilla extract (check your vanilla — most have high fructose corn syrup; again something I was surprised by!) I wish I could take awesome food photography – it’s a talent I just don’t have. This does not look as appetizing as it actually was; trust me.

I enjoyed my coffee with fat free milk and nothing else – no fake sugar or creamer to sweeten it like I normally would have.  I felt like quite a grown-up having just milk in my coffee and it wan’t too bad. It’ll take some time to get used to actually tasting the coffee and not the overly sweet way I used to make it —  i/e a little coffee with my sugar/creamer.

Morning snack:  (remember they suggest eating ever 2-3 hours) A bowl of fresh raspberries and a handful of almonds.

Lunch:  Split pea soup with turkey (I made a big pot last night from The Eat Clean Diet Cookbook to eat for lunches all week) and a spinach salad with strawberries, feta, almonds and my favorite Lucero Balsamic Vinegar & Basil Olive Oil.

Afternoon snack: Brown rice cakes (found them at Trader Joe’s and learned they are made locally in Richvale right outside of Chico – yeah for eating locally too!) and almond butter.

Dinner: Skillet turkey spaghetti, roasted broccoli & sliced strawberries

Winner, winner spaghetti dinner! This was such an easy spaghetti recipe and the fact it’s all cooked in one pot was the most amazing idea I’ve ever heard of! No boiling the noodles separate – they boil in the tomato sauce liquid. I’ve never heard of such a thing! Great flavor and the girls and hubby scarfed it up. Regardless of clean eating challenge I will make this again for sure. This recipe made a ton — there will be plenty of leftovers for snacks, lunches and another dinner for sure.

Dessert:  Honey Apple Crisp I think I was expecting this to taste exactly like my favorite apple crisp recipe and I should have  known better since the  topping is made with whole wheat flour, oatmeal, flax seed (I replaced wheat germ with this), honey and butter. And while it wasn’t nearly as sweet and buttery as my old recipe (with brown sugar, white sugar, white flour, and butter) it was surprisingly really good and definitely satisfied my sweet tooth I get in the evening. The homemade honey whipped cream was a delicious way to top it and gave it the creamy feeling of having ice cream on top with just a little dollop. The girls gobbled it up just as quickly as they would’ve gobbled up the old recipe which goes to show you that our kids will eat healthy foods that aren’t loaded with sugar.  I will definitely keep this recipe in my roation and will play around with some different variations — want to try pears next and peaches this summer! My pictures did not turn out of our yummy dessert; they were all out of focus and fuzzy for some reason. Oh well. If you check out the link you’ll see her awesome pictures and recipe.

I’d say Day 1 was a success and not that much different than I normally try to eat — a few tweaks here and there and a little more time looking at labels at the grocery store but all in all do-able.

Now on to Day 2. 🙂

6 thoughts on “day 1 of clean eating challenge

  1. Seriously…just tell me when to shut up 🙂 And note that I am far from perfect and respect everyones choice in how they want to eat. But I do like to share info that I’ve read and come across, so with that being said….

    You grown-up, you…cutting the coffee creamer! 🙂 Whew that is always a tough one for peeps. I think we talked about this before and how you love your creamer, as most people do. Good for you and cutting that out. I’m a lucky one, I never put anything in my coffee so I don’t really “miss” anything. Coffee these days is less coffee and more sugar. I mean when you go to the coffee shop they have several kinds of sugar available to put in your coffee: fake sweetener (usually two kinds), raw brown sugar, white sugar, cane sugar syrup, flavored syrup… It’s kind of crazy! My morning coffee consists of a tablespoon heavy cream. OMG, it’s so tasty! My next goal would be to cut the dairy out completely and use coconut cream. But I just haven’t gotten that far.

    I don’t do oatmeal so I would replace that with eggs. I love eggs tho and could eat them everyday without getting sick of them, but some peeps are not like that. I think it is good to start the day off with protein and fat; give your body something to work with. They oatmeal, raises your blood sugar leaving you wanting that morning snack sooner. Do you ever notice if you eat eggs your satisfied longer? Here are all kinds of breakfast ideas: http://everydaypaleo.com/category/food/breakfast/

    I love that you’re getting in the fat AND supporting those ALMOND farmers. LOL! Almonds have mostly Omega 6 Fatty Acids, which we are typically 20 to 1 compared to Omega 3’s. Meaning we are getting way more Omega 6’s versus Omega 3’s. We should be at the most 2 to 1. I really struggle with this because it is so EASY to get the Omega 6’s in versus the Omega 3’s that are found in wild caught fish, grass fed beef and omega enriched eggs. I’m not saying stop the nuts, but I just think this is interesting. Plus I know how easy it is to over eat nuts. Here is a great article that touches on this: http://balancedbites.com/2010/12/for-the-love-of-almonds-and-some-omega-36-fats-talk.html

    There is fruit in every meal, which obviously has fructose – sugar. That spikes your blood sugar. Do you notice if you feel hungrier after an hour or two after eating fruit versus sticking with veggies as your carbs? I tinkered with this idea for awhile and tried to really concentrate on how my body reacted after eating fruit. I did notice that I was hungrier faster. I’m not saying stop the fruit, just throwing this idea out there and see how your body feels.

    Turkey was the only protein for the day, unless I missed something. I mean obviously there are hidden proteins found in some of the other foods, but mostly there was only one good source of protein. I would try to have a protein in every meal. Was there meat in your spaghetti? Have you tried spaghetti with spaghetti squash? http://lowcarbdiets.about.com/od/cooking/a/spagsquash.htm

    Like I said I am SO far from perfect and people have different opinions, so I hope that I can just throw this out there and let that be that – just information. Thanks for letting me share 🙂 I love reading your blog. And I love seeing the girls on here working on your fun projects!

  2. Blaire! I love all your thoughts. I guess it goes against what I feel I was taught was healthy – you know? I mean fruit at every meal = healthy in my mind. When you say you snack on veggies during the day all I picture is baby carrots? Give me better ideas for snacks?
    Yes, I probably could use more protein and have probably habitually had less protein and more carbs in my diet. Keep the info coming!
    And, I had some left over cream and heated some up for my coffee this morning and it was pure heaven. 🙂

  3. TOTALLY goes against the grain (pun intended) HAHA, I crack myself up!

    I completely understand what you mean. Here we were taught to eat low fat, high carb and now “they” are saying eat Saturated Fat, eat bacon, eat coconut!

    I’m not huge in the eating every 2 to 3 hours. I think eating when your body tells you to eat is what you should do. If your hormones and blood sugar are regulated then, mostly, your body should tell you what you need to know…and everyone is different.

    So, snacking for me is more like a meal. But when I was going to school and didn’t have time for a hot lunch I would take a LARGE handful of cherry tomatoes, half an avocado and deli meat or jerky. Or carrots, or celery…not a huge celery fan. I mean really if I could only take one thing, I would take the meat or the fat because that will satisfy me longer and the longer I’m satisfied the longer I have to make a it home to a BOMB, nutritious meal…my own home!

    Sweet potatoes are great, there not my fav but they are good. Honestly, when Mitch and I first started tinkering with Paleo we DID NOT eat veggies hardly at all. As Mitch would say, “I don’t like little trees and I never have!” Little trees are broccoli, FYI. Now we eat the big ole’ bags of ’em at Costco. We have really come along way in the veggie department and I am so thankful for that! And we’re not scared to try new things, which is pretty awesome.

    Once again, I am SO not perfect and probably do things that aren’t “right”. But there are great things that have come from our Paleo adventure, were going on about 4 or 5 years, I think. I’m trying to remember when I first met Robb Wolf and started Nor Cal S&C; I think it was 2007.

    How is the Clean Eating going? You should fill us in again with a post.

  4. I loved reading this conversation! I totally related to so many parts of it. I go back and forth with eggs in the morning vs oatmeal or yogurt and fruit. I have been struggling with whether to cut out dairy or not. Jim and I did a cleanse recently and we had to cut out dairy. I didn’t miss it too much, I actually really liked the organic almond milk we drank and put in smoothies. I guess I just like my yogurt as a dessert sometimes instead of ice cream. I’m still on the fence about going totally Paleo or sticking to eating clean. I am really enjoying hearing what both of you have to say 🙂

Leave a Reply

