week one recap

Week one of my challenge is coming to an end and I can most definitely say it will be continuing. Was I perfect this week? Nope… a glass of wine yesterday, a VERY delicious piece of Upper Crust’s Carrot Cake at my cousins baby shower yesterday and few stolen french fries off the girls plates today.  But, I think that’s part of life and how you make it a healthy lifestyle (clean, paleo, weight watchers, atkins, whatever…) rather than a extreme diet for a few months.

I am not a nutritionist nor do I have the scientific research to back up what I am going to say (and we are only talking one week of trying this) but I swear I had less cravings of the sugary/carb loaded stuff I could normally overeat on.  Perfect example:  Friday night I was coming home late and we decided to just grab a Papa Murphy’s pizza since I wasn’t going to want to cook and I couldn’t talk my family into eating the leftover spaghetti or split pea soup for about the 3rd night this week. I don’t know if it was because I told myself I wasn’t going to have any or because I wasn’t starving since I’d snacked on cashews and an apple on the way home or what it was but I didn’t eat a single slice of the pizza and instead ate a bowl of split pea soup and strawberries while they munched away on their Canadian bacon pineapple cheesy deliciousness. But you know what? I didn’t really miss it. Let me say that again just to really hear it again myself –  I didn’t really miss it. This is coming from someone who could put away 4 pieces of pizza no problem. I don’t know if it was that I was all caught up in the idea of the challenge and trying to stick with it or that since I was eating less of the sugars/carbs I could easily turn them down when they were right in front of me. I don’t know if it’s true the less you eat of something the less you miss it and more importantly could that really be the case after a few days? I don’t know but I’m interested to see if it continues.

All in all, it was easy for me to transition to this style of eating. My energy levels were great all week and I never had that I’m-so-starving-I’m-going-to-eat-whatever-I-can-find feeling since I was making an effort to eat every few hours. Next week I am going to work on increasing my protein (thanks for the tips, Blaire) and I still need to keep the glasses of water going during the day.

And in case you don’t believe that you can still make delicious and healthy treats here’s a very yummy “clean” peanut butter oatmeal cookie recipe I made with the girls tonight.

Recipe adapted from The Gracious Pantry.

Ingredients:

  • 1 C peanut butter
  • 3/4 C agave (or honey)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C whole wheat pastry flour ( I realize mines says white whole wheat flour and I’m not exactly sure that that is – I just had to go with it since that’s all I had)
  • 1/2 C oats

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and stir until well combined.

Scoop and drop the cookies onto cookie sheet ( I sprayed mine with olive oil using my misto sprayer, you could also do parchment paper) and bake for 10-12 minutes. You might need them to go a little longer if they are thicker – just check them and see.

Delicious! And the perfect way to end our Sunday.

One thought on “week one recap

Leave a Reply

